FLANDERS.BIO

Biotechnology: incredibly interesting, but also complex and abstract. The umbrella organisation for the sector, flanders.bio, asked us to prepare the communication in the run-up to the ‘State of the Union’ event for Flemish biotechnology. Our primary task was to seek out the news story and tell it in a language everyone could understand.

flanders bio
flanders bio

When flanders.bio decided to join forces with us, we had no idea what news story to run with. But that quickly changed when we saw the results from KBC Securities’ market study on the European listed biotech sector. We knew we’d hit the jackpot! Belgium turned out to be the clear market leader in the sector. Our collective biotech businesses had increased their rating by 12.5% compared to the previous year.

This was huge news. We began by fitting the figures into a robust news story. With just the right nuances and clear language for the outside world. Our mission was to attract the most prestigious audio-visual and online press to the flanders.bio event. So our news would make the headlines in the most important media the following morning. The target audience for flanders.bio is mostly made up of entrepreneurs and investors so we initially zoomed in on media channels such as business TV station Kanaal Z, and financial dailies De Tijd and L’Echo.

Some of the selected editors were sent the press release, under embargo, the evening before the event. This gave Kanaal Z a chance to broadcast a comprehensive interview and report on the day. Even after the event, press agency Belga ensured the story found its way to the evening news on Radio 1 and RTBF too. De Tijd and L’Echo also covered the fact that Belgium was leading the biotech industry on its websites. The following morning, De Tijd, La Libre and De Morgen also provided further coverage. Mission accomplished!

Your expert

Tobias Vanassche
Tobias Van Assche

Senior PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top

FLANDERS.BIO

Tout le monde ne s’intéresse pas nécessairement à la biotechnologie ; en outre, il s’agit souvent de données complexes et abstraites. C’est ainsi que l’association sectorielle flamande, flanders.bio, nous a demandé de préparer la communication relative à l’événement phare du secteur flamand des biotechnologies. Notre mission: partir en quête de nouvelles et les diffuser dans un langage compréhensible.

flanders bio
flanders bio

Lorsque flanders.bio nous a contactés, nous étions assez perplexes quant aux informations à diffuser. Mais à la lecture des conclusions de l’étude de marché de KBC Securities sur le secteur des entreprises biotech européennes cotées en bourse, le déclic s’est fait. Nous avons tout de suite compris que nous avions de l’or en main. La Belgique ressortait clairement leader européen du secteur ; de plus, nos entreprises biotech enregistraient une hausse globale de 12,5 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

Cette nouvelle était cruciale, et nous avons cherché à rendre les chiffres plus d’actualité pour diffuser un message nuancé, intéressant et compréhensible pour le large public. Nous avons ensuite défini notre mission: attirer la presse web et audiovisuelle à l’événement de flanders.bio. C’est pourquoi dès le lendemain matin nous avons diffusé la nouvelle dans les principaux médias. Vu que le groupe cible de flanders.bio se compose principalement d’entrepreneurs et d’investisseurs, nous avons misé d’abord sur Kanaal Z, De Tijd et L’Echo.

Plusieurs rédactions triées sur le volet ont reçu le communiqué de presse sous embargo, la veille au soir de l’événement, ce qui a permis à Kanaal Z, par exemple, de diffuser le jour même un reportage détaillé ainsi qu’une interview. Le lendemain soir, la nouvelle était également relayée, via l’agence de presse Belga, par Radio 1 et la RTBF. Les sites web des journaux De Tijd et L’Echo ont également mis en avant la position de leader de l’industrie belge des biotechnologies. Le lendemain matin, se sont notamment les journaux De Tijd, La Libre et De Morgen qui y ont consacré un article. Mission réussie!

Votre expert

Tobias Vanassche
Tobias Van Assche

Senior PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top